Something that Drives me Crazy

People with blogs often put hyperlinks into their posts that take readers away from their sites. This hurts their post.

The right way to set up your hyperlinks

For writers with blogs

I like to read other people’s blogs, and there’s a reasonable chance that that’s how you found me. So how did I find you? Well, I probably went to someone whose blog I already follow, read a post, and saw one of your comments or a link to you from the post. That make sense? And your name was a hyperlink. You know how to make hyperlinks, right? you click on the little chain link above, and are invited to enter an address. Looks like this.

Typical Add-Link Box

hyperlink1

What most people seem to do is put in the url like good writers and click on “Add Link.”

You know that’s what you do, but it’s NOT RIGHT! You need to do at least one more thing. Maybe two. These will be both polite to your readers and good for your site.

Improve Your SEO

You can do two things that will improve the way your post is found when people search.

Use Anchor Text

You MIGHT want to put something into the “Link Text” box. The last I heard (although it’s been a while), this becomes the “anchor text” of your link, and having that anchor text be a favored keyword or the title of the place you’re sending people to is good for SEO (that’s “search engine optimization”) – a healthy thing for the place linked.

Check “Open link in a new window/tab”

You ALMOST CERTAINLY want to click the box labeled “Open link in a new window/tab.” What that does is cause a new tab to be opened when the person clicks on it. It’s the polite thing to do, and it’s smart.

Why does it matter, Elena?

Because then, when they click on that link and follow it to their heart’s content, they STILL have you on their browser. By itself that is good for SEO, although probably not a very big deal. What is a big deal is that they can then continue reading what they were reading in the first place, and you can make your point without worrying that the things you link to will, paradoxically, interrupt your point and damage your argument.

You will also annoy fewer people. Most internet users do not expect clicking a link to take them far away from what they are reading, and they can get lost. So check that open in a new tab box.

I cannot explain why the default on the wordpress.com site for commenters is to take them away from the site. If I can figure out how to undo it, I’ll let you know.

If you will give me a comment here, you’ll help people find your site the way I found yours.

Author: elenanewton

I write erotica. I'm a hotwife who likes to write about my experiences and the stories that occur to me. I'm a serious craftswoman of my trade of writing, and am also a thinker who gives the "sexual battleground" a great deal of serious thought.

Leave a Reply

